Select a Category
Dual Sport
Select a Brand/Model
        Price Range
        Below 100K
        Over 1M

        Quartararo claims victory in Doha GP

        History has been made under the desert lights
        by Matthew Galang Apr 5, 2021
        PHOTO: MotoGP

        The Monster Energy Yamaha team has cause for celebration, with Fabio Quartararo taking the win at the Tissot Grand Prix of Doha. But the race was unforgettable for another reason—it also saw the closest top 15 finish to date in the series.

        The Losail International Circuit tends to see close finishes, but this race was particularly close—just 8.928sec covered the top 15 finishers. The dogfight under the desert lights beat out the previous record of 15.093sec, which also happened to be set at Losail. It shows how competitive Grand Prix motorcycle racing has become.

        Doha GP

        Continue reading below ↓

        In addition to bagging the first and second spots on the podium, Quartararo and Pramac Racing’s Johann Zarco also handed France its first double premier-class podium since 1954. Third was taken by Pramac Racing rookie Jorge Martin, who secured his maiden MotoGP podium.

        Continue reading below ↓
        Recommended Videos

        Fabio Quartararo and Johann Zarco

        Making the Doha GP even more special is the fact that every manufacturer was in the top 15, with a gap of just 6.063sec between Yamaha, Suzuki, Ducati, KTM, Aprilia, and Honda. Given how competitive each manufacturer’s machines are at this point, it comes as no surprise that the world-class riders piloting them continue to give fans lots of exciting on-track action.

        Continue reading below ↓

        This year’s first two Grand Prix have presented us with the first and fifth closest top 15 finishes in the sport’s history, so it’s more than safe to say that MotoGP’s off to an explosive start in 2021.

        2021 Doha GP race results

        Position Rider Team Time/Gap Points
        1 Fabio Quartararo (#20/FRA) Monster Energy Yamaha 42:23.997 25
        2 Johann Zarco (#5/FRA) Pramac Racing – Ducati +1.457 20
        3 Jorge Martin (#89/SPA) Pramac Racing – Ducati +1.500 16
        4 Alex Rins (#42/SPA) Team Suzuki Ecstar +2.088 13
        5 Maverick Viñales (#12/SPA) Monster Energy Yamaha +2.110 11
        6 Francesco Bagnaia (#63/ITA) Ducati Lenovo Team +2.642 10
        7 Joan Mir (#36/SPA) Team Suzuki Ecstar +4.868 9
        8 Brad Binder (#33/RSA) Red Bull KTM Factory Racing +4.979 8
        Jack Miller (#43/AUS)  Ducati Lenovo Team +5.365    7
        10 Aleix Espargaro (#41/SPA) Aprilia Racing Team Gresini +5.382 6
        11 Enea Bastianini (#23/ITA) Avintia Esponsorama – Ducati +5.550 5
        12 Franco Morbidelli (#21/ITA) Petronas Yamaha SRT +5.787 4
        13 Pol Espargaro (#44/SPA) Repsol Honda Team +6.063 3
        14 Stefan Bradl (#6/GER) Repsol Honda Team +6.453 2
        15 Miguel Oliveira  (#88/POR) Red Bull KTM Factory Racing +8.928 1
        16 Valentino Rossi (#46/ITA) Petronas Yamaha SRT +14.246
        17 Takaaki Nakagami (#30/JPN) LCR Honda IDEMITSU +16.241
        18 Luca Marini (#10/ITA) SKY VR46 Avintia – Ducati +16.472
        19 Danilo Petrucci (#9/ITA) Tech 3 KTM Factory Racing +16.779
        20 Lorenzo Savadori (#32/ITA) Aprilia Racing Team Gresini +38.775

        Doha GP

        Continue reading below ↓

        Fabio Quartararo

        See Also

        View other articles about:
        PHOTO: MotoGP

      • Quiz Results

      • TopBikes Rating:

        Starts at ₱

        TopBikes Rating:
        Starts at ₱